Skip to content

All Newmarket council members running for re-election

No other candidates have registered to date for the October municipal election
20181211 newmarket council 2018 to 2022 KC
File photo.

All Newmarket council members will attempt to hold onto their seats in the upcoming October municipal election.

With candidate nominations opening May 2, Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom Vegh, along with councillors Grace Simon (Ward 1), Victor Woodhouse (Ward 2), Trevor Morrison (Ward 4) and Kelly Broome (Ward 6) all filed to run for re-election in the first week. 

Meanwhile, councillors Jane Twinney (Ward 2), Bob Kwapis (Ward 5) and Christina Bisanz (Ward 7) all confirmed to NewmarketToday that they are running again and will officially file. Mayor John Taylor revealed he would run for re-election at the end of last year.

“I’m so excited to be moving forward with the next number of years with an amazing council, amazing community, amazing private sector partners, to really build one of the best places in Canada to live,” Taylor told business leaders at the chamber’s annual mayor’s luncheon event April 26. 

Any challengers have not yet filed to run, according to the town's election website. The nomination period is open until Aug. 19 to Canadian citizens who reside or own property in Newmarket, or their spouses.

Taylor will seek his second term as mayor after succeeding now-MP Tony Van Bynen. He also served as regional councillor for three terms from 2006 to 2018.  

He credited the council as being stable during his past term.

“Not all councils function perfectly or professionally,” Taylor said April 26. “It really matters. If you have a council that is professional, hard-working and park their egos at the door … your community is advancing quicker than some others, I can assure you.”

Council led the town through three years of the pandemic, though that has delayed some of its strategic priorities such as exploring downtown pedestrianization.

Vegh is seeking his fifth consecutive term on council, having served as Ward 1 councillor for three terms before stepping into the regional councillor role. 

Simon ran for her first time in 2018 and will attempt to get a second term.

Woodhouse will run for a fourth term on council. He previously served in Ward 3 from 2006 to 2010 and councillor-at-large from 2000 to 2003.

Twinney is running for her fourth straight term in Ward 3. She previously bested Woodhouse in the ward in 2010 before he ran for election in Ward 2 when longtime councillor Dave Kerwin chose not to run again. 

Morrison was council newcomers in 2018 but will run again in a bid to hold their seats for a second term.  

Kwapis first came onto council in a byelection in 2016, before winning again in 2018. He will compete for a third term. 

Broome and Bisanz, both acclaimed in 2018, will be vying for a third consecutive term in their wards.

School board trustee nominations have also opened up, and incumbent Theresa McNicol has put her name forward to represent Newmarket, East Gwillimbury and Georgina for York Catholic District School Board.

You can get more information on becoming a candidate at The town said it will keep a running list of candidates as they file to run.

The municipal voting period will be 10 days, from Oct. 10 to 24.

Editor's Note, May 6, 2022:This article was edited to correct an error that stated Kwapis first won an election in 2018. Kwapis had won a byelection in 2016 prior to that.