Skip to content

York Regional Council highlights: Taylor appointed 2nd acting chair

Also, the Region appointed its first Integrity Commissioner, and has a draft code of conduct for council, as now required by Ontario's Municipal Act
York Region Council Chambers - Edited
York Regional Council chamber. Supplied Photo/Region of York

York Region Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson welcomed the newly elected York Regional Council to the 2018 – 2022 term of office. Chairman Emmerson was elected by members of Regional Council at the Dec. 6 Inaugural.

Council usually meets on the third Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. For the official Council and Committee meeting dates please see the events calendar.

Council meetings are open to the public and available via live-streaming here.

York Regional Council approves appointment of Acting Chair

In a motion passed by York Regional Council, Town of Richmond Hill Mayor David Barrow has been appointed to act as head of council should Chairman Wayne Emmerson be absent at any time during the 2018 to 2022 term of Council.

In the event both Chairman Emmerson and Mayor Barrow are absent, Town of Newmarket Mayor John Taylor will act in the place of the Regional Chair.

York Region welcomes the United Nations

York Regional Council has been presented with the flag of the United Nations. In an address to Council, United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) delegate Estrella Merlos recognized York Region as a leader in both inclusion and road safety.

Ms. Merlos visited York Region for two days to discuss using the Inclusion Charter for York Region as a leading practice model communities around the world could use to become more inclusive. Hosted by York Region and York Regional Police, Ms. Merlos met with Council, staff, York University representatives and local faith leaders to discuss future partnership opportunities with the Region.

York Region continues to advocate for better transit fare integration

York Regional Council continues to seek a commitment from Metrolinx to finalize a Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) fare integration solution by 2019. An integrated fare solution would require standardization of fare policies, discounts, fares and rules regarding transfers.

York Region will continue to work with York University on a temporary solution to the cross-boundary travel issue for students, such as a Universal Pass.

York Regional Council receives cannabis update

York Regional Council received a presentation providing updates on the decriminalization of cannabis in York Region.

Updates included:
  • Health impacts of cannabis impairing impulse control, working memory and decision-making
  • Public Health enforcement and annual inspections
  • Retail store application process with the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario
  • Ontario’s cannabis regulations as they relate to licencing
  • Smoke Free Ontario Act, 2017  –  new enhancements to provide the public with protection from smoke, including cannabis 
Information on cannabis regulations is available here.

Principles Integrity selected as York Region’s first Integrity Commissioner for five-year term

Principles Integrity has been selected as York Region’s first Integrity Commissioner in accordance with revisions to the Municipal Act requiring all municipalities to have an integrity commissioner and Council Code of Conduct in place by March 1, 2019.

A draft Council Code of Conduct was presented to Council for consideration in April 2018. the code is based on those in place in other municipalities and included legislatively required topics and other common elements. Further development of the Council Code of Conduct will be the responsibility of Principles Integrity.

An updated draft Council Code of Conduct will be presented to Council at its Jan. 31, 2019 meeting.

Regional Council designates candidate for AMO Board

Town of Georgina Regional Councillor Robert Grossi will stand as York Region’s candidate for appointment to the 2018 – 2022 Board of Directors of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario.

The Association of Municipalities of Ontario is comprised of Ontario’s 444 municipalities, working together to achieve shared goals and meet common challenges.