Skip to content

Newmarket trustee elected vice-chair of public school board

First-time trustee Pamela McCarthy will bring 'fresh new perspective,' nominator says
Pamela McCarthy has been voted vice-chair for the York Region District School Board.

Newmarket’s newly elected trustee has chosen as vice-chair of York Region District School Board. 

Pamela McCarthy was elected to the position at the board’s inaugural meeting Nov. 21. The first-time trustee won the secret board ballot over Vaughan trustee Dr. Elizabeth Sinclair to get the position.

Aurora and Whitchurch-Stouffville Trustee Melanie Wright, who nominated McCarthy and spoke on her behalf, said she felt having a newer trustee in the position makes sense.

“She will bring a fresh new perspective to the position, which I think is important with eight new trustees sitting on the board,” Wright said. “This is very important, to have a new voice.

“With her background in nursing and education and experience sitting on a board, I think she has the skills required,” she added. 

McCarthy is replacing former Newmarket trustee Linda Gilbert, who decided not to run in this year’s election. McCarthy won the October election in a tight race over Shameela Shakeel, 4414 votes to 4034.

The board also elected its chairs at its inaugural meeting. Markham Trustee Ron Lynn was elected into the chair position. Committee chairs elected include Richmond Hill’s Cindy Liang for finance and property, Markham’s Michael Chen for learning, equity and well-being, as well as Indigenous Trustee Lauri Hoeg for policy and bylaw.

“Thank you all trustees for putting your name to this term,” Lynn said. “I look forward to working with each one of you and every one of you to work for the best interests of our 128,000 students.”