Skip to content

Interested in sitting on a Town of Newmarket committee?

If you would like to join Newmarket's elected officials on a committee of interest to you, the deadline to apply is Jan. 11, 2019
Newmarket Town Hall

If you would like to get more involved with your community, the Town of Newmarket is currently recruiting volunteers for several committees.

Issues on a wide variety of subjects are debated and discussed in detail by the committees, and recommendations are made to town council for consideration and action.

The Town’s elected officials are appointed to the various committee boards, many of which also welcome members of the public to apply for a seat. If you have an interest in Newmarket’s history and historical properties, for instance, then a volunteer position on the heritage or historical boards might be one where you can make a difference.

If you are interested in joining a Town of Newmarket committee, volunteers are being recruited for:

  • Accessibility Advisory Committee
  • Appeal Committee
  • Committee of Adjustment
  • Heritage Newmarket Advisory Committee
  • Newmarket Public Library Board
  • Property Standards Committee

Boards and committees open house
Interested applicants are invited to learn more Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2019 from 6 to 8 p.m. at an open house at the Municipal Offices, 395 Mulock Dr. Staff will be available to answer questions and help with the application process. Bring a copy of your resume.

The deadline for submitting an application is Friday, Jan. 11 at 4:30 p.m.

Please submit completed applications via email to

Contact the town’s Legislative Services department at 905-895-5193 for more information or visit here.

Following the deadline, the appointment committee will review all applications and some applicants may be invited for a short interview. The committee will recommend candidates to Council for appointment. All applicants will be notified of Council's decision.

Here are the various committees to which Newmarket’s local politicians have so far been appointed for the 2018 to 2022 term:

  • Accessibility Advisory Committee: Councillor Grace Simon
  • Appointment Committee: Mayor John Taylor, Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom Vegh, and Councillor Jane Twinney
  • Audit Committee: Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom Vegh, councillors Christina Bisanz and Trevor Morrison
  • Central York Fire Services Joint Council Committee: Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom Vegh, Councillors Kelly Broome and Christina Bisanz
  • Elman W. Campbell Museum Board: Councillor Christina Bisanz
  • Heritage Advisory Committee: Councillor Christina Bisanz
  • Main Street District Business Improvement Area Board of Management: Councillors Jane Twinney and Bob Kwapis
  • Newmarket Historical Society: Councillor Victor Woodhouse
  • Newmarket Public Library Board: Councillors Kelly Broome, Jane Twinney and Victor Woodhouse
  • Newmarket Seniors’ Meeting Place Board: Councillor Jane Twinney
  • SmartCommute - Central York: Councillor Trevor Morrison

In addition, Taylor and Vegh, as members of York Regional Council for the 2018 to 2022 term, have been appointed to additional regional committees, boards and external agencies, including:

  • Human Services Planning Board: Taylor. In addition, Taylor was appointed second acting chair of York Regional Council
  • Accessibility Advisory Committee, Audit Committee, and Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority: Vegh

Like the local committee structure, Taylor and Vegh sit at the various committee tables with their counterparts from York Region’s nine municipalities, dive into their respective issues and then report back to the region’s committee of the whole to help it make decisions.

Kim Champion

About the Author: Kim Champion

Kim Champion is a veteran journalist and editor who covers Newmarket and issues that impact York Region.
Read more