Skip to content

10 finalists vying for Leacock Medal for Humour

Ten books in running for national humour award; winner to be revealed in June
2019-04-23 Leacock Medal long list
Ten books have made the long list for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. Supplied photo


The board of directors of the Stephen Leacock Associates announced its 2019 longlist for the 72nd Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour today.

Board president Nathan Taylor has thanked the panel of judges from across Canada and the committee of local readers for their recommendations.

The longlist for the 2019 Leacock Medal is, in alphabetical order by author surname:

  • Ali Bryan, The Figgs (Freehand Books)

  • Mark Critch, Son of a Critch: A Childish Newfoundland Memoir (Penguin Random House Canada/Viking Canada)

  • Aminder Dhaliwal, Woman World (Drawn & Quarterly)

  • Hadley Dyer, Here So Far Away (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.)

  • Uzma Jalaluddin, Ayesha At Last (Harper Avenue)

  • Cathal Kelly, Boy Wonders (Doubleday Canada)

  • Rick Mercer, Final Report (Doubleday Canada)

  • Martin Myers, The NeverMind of Brian Hildebrand (Crowsnest Books)

  • Eden Robinson, Trickster Drift (Knopf Canada)

  • Lindsay Wong, The Woo-Woo: How I Survived Ice Hockey, Drug Raids, Demons, and My Crazy Chinese Family (Arsenal Pulp Press)

The shortlist of three will be announced May 6. The winner will be revealed during a gala dinner June 8 at the Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn and Conference Centre. 

Master of ceremonies for the occasion will be Ian Ferguson, winner of the medal in 2004, and Drew Hayden Taylor (a runner-up in 2017 who has been named grand chief of Mariposa to replace Dan Needles, who was the mayor), will regale us with his insights into life in our community.

For more information, including tickets for the gala weekend events in June, visit